Meet Our Staff

H74 Orangutan Group staff photo

Conrad FroehlichDirector
Director of the Martin and Osa Johnson Safari Museum since 1989, Froehlich holds a B.A. and M.A. in Anthropology with a focus on Museum Studies from Miami University. Froehlich is honored to have served during important phases in the museum’s growth including the move to Chanute’s renovated depot, expansion of staffing and educational services, and development of important partnerships and licensing collaborations. In recognition of his work at the Safari Museum® the American Alliance of Museums awarded Froehlich its Nancy Hank Memorial Award for Professional Excellence (one of only 22 individual recipients since 1985). He is a past President of the Kansas Museums Association. Froehlich has served on national museum committees and is a presenter at professional conferences. Froehlich enjoys visiting with all guests, museum supporters, and Martin and Osa Johnson fans.
Jacquelyn Borgeson ZimmerCurator
Jacquelyn Borgeson Zimmer is curator emeritus (active) of the museum. Hired in 1995, she develops curriculum, conservation programs, and coordinates the Safari Film Festival. Jacquelyn curated a national touring exhibition based on the lives of explorers and filmmakers Martin and Osa Johnson and she remains the liaison between the museum and its sister museums in Burkina Faso, West Africa and in Sabah, Malaysia.  She has presented museum lecture programs across the US, in Chile, and in the Czech Republic. Jacquelyn is currently developing a newly donated 1890’s photograph collection by Elizabeth Burnaby Main Le Blond.  The museum has partnered with a heritage minded group in Le Blond’s home country and Jacquelyn attended and presented a program focused on the work of this pioneering female filmmaker at her former estate, The Burnaby, at Greystones, County Wicklow  Ireland in August 2013. With the year 2015 being the 75th anniversary of both the book and film versions of Osa Johnson’s I Married Adventure, Jacquelyn will be focused on Johnsonian-related events at the museum and conducting many speaking programs on the life and times of Martin and Osa Johnson.
Shirley Rogers NaffMuseum Shop Manager
Shirley has been Osa’s Ark Museum Shop manager and assistant treasurer since 2003. Shirley is responsible for product selection and development of products that fits the mission of the museum for resale in the shop. Shirley is a member of the Museum Store Association, a past president of the Southwest Chapter of MSA, and currently resides on the Chanute Tourism Committee as the Safari Museum’s representative.

Got a question for our staff? Ask it here and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can!

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message

Board of Trustees

lions in grass

Rick Rutter (President), Paul Myers (Vice President), Ron Flowers (Treasurer),  Cheryl Day (Secretary), Betsy Barney, Casey Godinez, Heather Guernsey, Denise Hastings, Martha McCoy, Daniel Ramsey, Jay Witt and Wayne Woodyard.

Honorary Trustees


Jack Badal, Robert Ballard, Kevin Brownlow, Gary K. Clarke, Clive Cussler, Nancy Durbin, Jack Hanna, Joyce Harrell, Dick Houston, Osa Yvonne Houston, Pascal & Eleanor Imperato, Schuyler Jones, Nancy Kassebaum Baker, Kenneth Love, Margaret Moore, Mike Resnick, George & Kay Schaller, Igor Sikorsky, Jr., Roy Thomas, Lonnie Wallace, Stan Walsh, Keith Wauchope, and Holly Wofford.

Honorary Trustees in Memoriam

Marianna Beach, Vern Carstens, Dick Douglas, Clarke Getts, Byron Harrell, Belle Leighty, David Martin, Douglas Oliver, Jackson Selsor, Kenhelm Stott, Jr., Lowell Thomas, Joseph Tilton, and George & Helen Wauchope.

Docents & Youth Volunteers

E1153 Plains Waterhole

Luke Babb, Caitlin Brown, Desiree Dye, Elizabeth Fehr, Mike Miller, Clayton Naff, Anrenee Reasor, Katie Reed, Aladeen Stoll, and Jesse Stutt.

Contact Us